Oh so delicious Cherry pie

IMG_8378A little over a month ago, I was dogsitting, as I wrote on the blog about 4 days ago. I by the way, wanted to post this a couple of days ago, but that did not happened, so here it is.

When I was dog sitting I stayed in my aunt and Uncles house, and they have a garden whit a cherries tree. When I saw the tree with all of the cherries, there was just hanging on the tree, waiting on being eaten, I knew I had to make something with cherries. So on the day that I drove all the way (about 25 minutes in car) to the airport to pick them up, I decided to bake a pie, so that there would be something delicious to eat, when we got back to the house.

This was the first cherry cake that I have ever baked, but oh my god it was good. The recipe for the shortcrust pastry, is my own recipe, however, it is a recipe that I have created a while ago. It’s only good for dessert pies, because there is vanilla in, but for that, it also works very well.

It’s a quite simple pie to bake, and the baking doesn’t take too long, just remember that the dough have to rest in the fridge for about an hour after making it, before you roll it out and put it in your flan dish.

The shortcrust pastry:

1 egg (the one I used, weighted about 62 g, with the shell 69 g)

1 tsp vanilla sugar

50 g icing sugar

a nip of salt

100 g butter

225 g wheat flour

Mix the wheat flour, the icing sugar, salt, and vanilla sugar. Then you add the soft butter and knead it. Add the egg last, and don’t knead it too much, just enough to make the surface smooth and shiny. Wrap it in cling film, and put it in the fridge for a hour.

When you make the dough, it’s important that it doesn’t stick to your fingers. You have to be able to roll it to a little ball. If your egg is very small, then you should use a little less flour or if the egg is really big, then add some more flour. It’s important for how the dough will turn out. If your egg is really, really big, you might not want to use all of it. If there is too much wheat flour in the dough, it might get really dry after it’s been in the oven.

The filling:

600 g of cherries (I weighted them before removing the cherry stone)

50 g of cane sugar

½ tsp of vanilla sugar or ½ vanilla pod

2 tb marizena

35 g of marzipan (grate it)

The zest of one little organic lemon.

The lemon zest and the marzipan complement each other really well.

Clean the cherries and remove the stones, while the dough is in the fridge. Cut the cherries in half. Mix the Cherries, sugar, vanilla, lemon zest, marzipan and marizena in a bowl. If the cherries aren’t so moist, you can add 1-2 tb of water.IMG_8365After one hour in the fridge, take your dough out, and take a smaller amount of the dough and put it aside. You need it to decorate the top with. The rest of it, is going in the flan dish, after you of cause have rolled it out, so that its big and flat and very thin.

Pre-bake the bottom I at 200°C for about 10 minutes in a convection oven. It have to be blind baked (prick the dough with a fork, like on the picture).

After 10 minutes, take out the flan dish with your pie bottom and put in the filling. The left over of the dough is being used on the top of the cake, for decoration.

Bake the pie for 10 minutes at 175°C (convection oven). And then it’s done. Let it cool of a little and then serve it. I served it with sour cream, but I think that vanilla ice cream also could work just fine. IMG_8375IMG_8394IMG_8381By the way, I hope that you still do have some cherries, perhaps in your freezer? I know it would have been better if I had posted this the day after I made it, but that didn’t happened and there is going to be a few really late posts over the next week or so. But you know, better late than never. Sorry.

But happy Monday and have a happy week.

By the way, I wasn’t the only one, who picked the cherries from the tree.IMG_8346

This entry was posted in Cake, Sweets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment