Æbleskiver // Puffy pancake-ish cakes filled with nougat

IMG_6526Æbleskiver is a traditional danish dessert kind of dish, that we eat in Denmark, mostly around Christmas. Actually almost always around christmas. But, as much other food, then I think you can eat them at any time. At christmas we serve them with Glögg. Glögg is a kind of Mulled wine we(adults) drink in Denmark at Christmas. I don´t really know if I like it, but I do LOVE Æbleskiver. Æbleskiver means sliced apples, but they don´t have anything to do with apples, unless you put a piece of apple in it. I didn´t do that. 
They are made of a dough, that is very similar to pancakes, but you make them in a special pan an – æbleskivepande, so that they become round. If you don´t have one, then I can recommend to get one, but I don´t know if you can buy them any where. Don´t buy them online, they weigh like a ton, so that will be quite expensive. IMG_6542The special – æbleskivepande, is the one you can see in the background. Very heavy.

For a portion of about 30 Æbleskiver you need:

2 eggs

250 g of wheat flour( I used Ølands wheat flour)

1 teaspoon of soda

50 g cane sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 grounded cardamom

1 teaspoon of finely graded lemon peel

1/2 l of buttermilk

butter for baking

I used Ølands wheat. I used this kind of wheat before, and if it is possible for you to get it, then it´s really good. I think that sometimes regular white wheat can feel quite heavy, wheat in general is, but this is a little better. You do pay for it, but it´s worth it. It also taste better.IMG_6486Sift the flour and baking soda together in a bowl. Mix it with sugar, salt and cardamom and lemon zest. Stir buttermilk and egg yolk in and whisk until it´s smooth. Stir the egg white till it´s stiff, and careful turn it in the dough. It makes them more fluffy, and that´s good. Let it rest for 1/2 hour.

Warm your special pan up and come a little butter in each hole. The first time you do this, put a little extra butter in each hole. Fill the holes 3/4 full with batter (in the picture above, there is too much batter in) and let them bake for 3 minutes. After 3 minutes you can put a little chunk of nougat in, or other things such as chocolate, prune, apple or something else. Turn them with a knitting needle and cook for 3 minutes on the other side. Repeat until all of the dough is used.IMG_6508IMG_6545Serve with icing sugar sprinkled on. If there isn´t anything inside, then serve them with jam. IMG_6551IMG_6524

This entry was posted in Food, Sweets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Æbleskiver // Puffy pancake-ish cakes filled with nougat

  1. andmorefood says:

    I’ve always wanted an aebleskiver pan – but haven’t been able to convince my practical side since it’s so one-use! yours look so appealing!

    • mixthetape says:

      Thanks 🙂 Yes, the pan is very one-use only. I probably wouldn´t have bought one myself, but my mom or grandma gave it to me. Also it´s a big part of my christmas memories from my childhood. But really, it does take a lot of space. But æbleskiver just taste sooo good.

Leave a Reply

