Dark chocolate brownie turns blond

IMG_2811

I baked this white chocolate brownie back in November, It´s a while ago, I know, but I pretty much forgot about it, until I saw some “old” photos. I baked it for a family birthday, and served it with vanilla Ice cream, blackberry´s and this sea buckthorn curd.
Now in the original recipe, your suppose to use dark chocolate, but I wanted to try something new, so I decided to go whit and old favorite of mine, and just make a little change. In the original there is walnuts, but for the white I chose almonds instead. It goes better with white chocolate, I think.
Now, white chocolate is REALLY sweet, so I used less chocolate than I do with a brown brownie and I chose to serve it with something a little bitter, the sea buckthorn curd. Sea buckthorn is really sour. Like biting in a lemon. And it´s really healthy too. How much of it you need, really depends on how sour it is, the earlier the season, the more sour it is.

The White Brownie:

 

The White Brownie:

50 g white chocolate (chose a good quality)

50 g Butter

40 g wheat flour

1 egg

100 g sugar

1/2 a teaspoon baking powder

50 g of almond (slipped and roughly chopped).

 

Whip the eggs and sugar until it´s fluffy.
Sift the flour and baking powder together and stir it with the egg mixture (gently so it continues to be fluffy).
Melt the chocolate and butter (the white chocolate should only just reach to melt, if it stands for to long, it gets lumpy).
Then stir it in with the dough along with the almonds.
Put it in a preheated oven at 175 for approx. 25 minutes.

IMG_2803

The Sea buchthorn curd:
30 g butter
40 g sugar
1 dl decilitre of sea buckthorn(if it´s early on the season, then a little less).
1 pasteurized egg

Blend the buckthorn, and strainer the cores from.
Pour butter, sugar, eggs and the sea bucktorn puree in a saucepan and warm it up while stirring.
Take it off the heat when the cream begins to thicken.
Pour it into a glass and place it in the refrigerator until use.
You can make it more or less sour, depending on how much sugar and sea buckthorn you use.

IMG_2638

I think that the contrast between the really sweet white chocolate brownie and the sour sea buckthorn, really works perfect

IMG_2566IMG_2582IMG_2583IMG_2593IMG_2617IMG_2809IMG_2692This is Kafka, my mom´s cat, he helped getting the table ready 😉 He didn´t do a very good job, so I´m not going to ask him next time.

This entry was posted in Food, Sweets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dark chocolate brownie turns blond

  1. andmorefood says:

    hi! I just nominated you for a liebster award (that celebrates small blogs) because I love the photos on your blog!

    there are more details here on my blog about what the award entails: http://andmorefood.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/liebster-award/

    this recipe looks intriguing, does it turn out like a blondie?

    • mixthetape says:

      I’m not quite sure what you mean by a blondie? And thank you 🙂 The colour is a little like a sponge cake, but it still got that deep chocolate taste. But more sweet than a dark brownie.

Leave a Reply

